Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Flower mantis

It has been a difficult few days without internet. I had to give up on the thumb drive modem type, as the connection was so unreliable. The land line is expensive and they kept me waiting for four days for the installation. The initial fee which included 150m of cable to be laid, was US$125 and the monthly charge will be around $25. This is 5x what I was paying before, but what is the point if you cannot log on for more than 25 seconds.

I have still been doing the safaris, but probably won’t bother back blipping. Seems pointless given my blipping record.

The path along the paddy fields was very wet this morning, after yesterday’s heavy rain. I knew I should have turned around and called it too dangerous, but there were plenty of bugs to be snapped. The inevitable happened and my legs slipped from under me. A large bruise where I landed on my camera and a badly sprained wrist. The bruise is no problem, but the wrist is giving me jip. All this typing seems to be good therapy though.

I love these mantids. They are happy to wander around the back of my hand, always facing the bushes. This behaviour can be used to position the mantis for a shot, by moving my body around accordingly.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.