Iain with two ‘I’s

By iainkendall

Northbound to the Cathedral City

I headed back to my parents today to treat my Mum to a nice pre-Mothers Day lunch since I couldn't make it up on the day. It was a great meal in the Northern Hotel in Brechin and well worth the visit.

I've driven this road many times in 10 years, commuting to see my girlfriend, then my fiancé, but at that point it reversed to visiting my parents as I moved to the Capital to make my fiancé my wife. The one thing that always amazed me in this mere 100 mile journey was the changing landscape; the colour of the soil, the weather, but also the traffic. As you got closer to Dundee and further North the lorries would change to Grampian MacLennan, Shetland Transport, ARR Craib, the registration plates were like the geo-tagging of cars and where they came from. It's amazing to watch as you travel. This van belongs to the company I used to work for before I moved to Edinburgh and was a small blast of nostalgia on the journey North.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.