Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Elephant Book

It’s done! Long in the thinking stage and then in the making stage, at last the stitching is done!

The pages are 6” square cardboard (the leftovers from the carousel sleeves we’ve going through - I hate to throw anything away, and this is a good weight and texture).. covered with Gelli prints on Deli paper. (kind of waxy on one side, but semi transparent) the text is also printed on the same semi transparent deli paper (you can tape it to a regular piece and the printer will print on it). The photos are mine from 2 separate trips to Africa. The covers are thin masonite, covered with the gelli prints. I couldn’t quite figure out how to bind single sheets like this but as always, Youtube came to the rescue with a wonderful tutorial that works great. The pages lay flat. It feels good in your hands. The binding is embroidery thread, waxed. Need five separate pieces and needles.

So I had to blip it. The next one will be Gorillas and I think I’ll do 2 page signatures and a more traditional coptic binding.

And NO, neither the calendar nor the Christmas card is done. Priorities. :-)

And I’ve put a few on flickr in case you want to see more than the stitching…

Will be the entry for the WBC "edge" as the week got away from me -but these are page edges, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.