Scribbler

By scribbler

Don't sweat the small stuff!

December Challenge / Size or Shape / Small
Tiny ceramic veggies and a small skyscraper posed on cork blocks 3" wide.


The skyscraper is a pin, the kind you wear on a jacket or sweater. It was a fundraiser for the homeless. I bought two of them, this one and a little house to symbolize my mulling over whether to live in the city or the suburbs. I gave the house away when I moved to my condo in the Pearl District. Funnily, I discovered today that the pin was made in Portland! But the one in Maine, not the one in Oregon. Prophetic?

The veggies (and an apple) and pin all come from the same crafts shop in Palo Alto. They had the most wonderful handmade objects.

The cork blocks are part of my yoga kit. B.K.S. Iyengar was a big proponent of props: blocks, straps, bolsters, anything that would make the poses easier to execute. It's great to have the right kind of help handy.

---------------------

A SMALL NOTE OF REGRET

It's so much fun doing challenges again!

Alas, I still have small, very small amounts of time to look at what you've so cleverly come up with — I'm grinding away at the novel every day. Sorry, but although National Novel Writing Month is done and dusted, I am only 10% finished with my edits of this draft.

I'll pop by when I can. Meanwhile, I love that you're out there doing this with me, side by side, snapping away and blipping away.

Indulging one's creativity is no small thing. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.