bucks life

By bucksmiss

Purple patch

Instead of venturing out last night, I did my Christmas wrapping and found enough paper left over from last year to do it all, bar four pressies. I started at 7.15pm and finished at 10.15pm. Phew, what a marathon!

I not ashamed to confess to another decent lie in today until 9.30ish. My single life means I can please myself in such matters and I take pleasure in doing so.

I was down to read the second lesson at the combined parish service with newish Bishop Jonathan in attendance so scrubbed up, donned a purple dress (subconsciously I must say) and was in the magnificent St James church in Hanslope in good time. (I snuck this shot during the opening hymn. I suspect it's not protocol but I don't think anyone noticed.)

My star turn did not happen though, as it seems the first reader thought he was the second reader and failed to go up to do the first reading so unbeknownst to us an altar person stood in, then when I stood up to do my bit, still unaware of his mistake, both he and I headed up to the lecturn... So, I did an about turn and sat back down! The vicar (quite unnecessarily) apologised during the 'peace'. For goodness sake, the poor vicar spent a long time prepping a running order with names and jobs and still the congregation manages to cock it up! I didn't mind and was safe in the knowledge that I was not the one at fault :) It was a lovely service, complete with a rendition, led by the Bishop, of 'Michael Finegan!

I had intended to go straight home to clear out the front room after church but have so far managed to avoid doing so and it's now 4pm! My usual procrastination. Instead, I've been back to the Brackley Antiques Cellar, browsing for chests of drawers and bookcases but came away empty handed. No bad thing.

I picked up some more wrapping paper and then popped into MK Boots to see if I could print some nephew and niece photos for a frame I've got for my sitting room. The DIY computers they have now seem pretty darned good: quick, easy to operate straight from the iPad and cheap. Now I've tried them I think I may use them to print some A4 photos for some frames I've bought for the dining room wall. (Not sure about the long term nature of the quality though. We'll see.)

Somehow, and with no planning at all, I've found myself in Carluccio's for a quiet early tea! (Whoops). I see they sell my favourite liqueur, Frangelico. Good to know! When I get back, I'll need to transfer all the junk from the front room to the back room to make me go through it in front of the telly tonight and tomorrow. Oh and there's a bit of ironing to be done too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.