Sunbeams over Stenness

December Challenge Day 8: Mono Monday - Home

Dodging showers again this morning, the dogs and I wandered up the hill in a chilly wind. They kept warm as usual by tearing around like idiots....
I had a bot of a day off today, Sigyn was due at the vet for a checkup and to get some stitches out, and she behaved impeccably.
I met my beautiful fiancée there and we headed home together for a quick lunch before a wander at the Ring of Brodgar.
For the challenge today I wanted to do a landscape. I have lived in a fair few places across the UK, and visited more. Orkney is the only place that has ever felt like home. As a kid it was where we all came for family holidays and I developed a real love for this place of huge skies, dramatic shorelines and rolling hills. Anyone who has followed my blips for any length of time will know that I love any view which features Hoy. The skies today were incredibly dramatic, huge clouds carrying rain and hail sweeping past HV and I as we walked in one of our favourite places. The sun bursting through the clouds and firing sunbeams up and down just made it even more perfect.
This is where my roots are. I feel complete here on this beautiful archipelago. It is home. I will never live anywhere else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.