briocarioca

By briocarioca

Trogon Triangle

Today reminded me of Star Wars at times - Trogon has to be an inter-galatial name, don't you think? Anyway, I spent far too much time trying to get a clear shot of the male bird perching near his half-constructed home, but this one shot is all I managed. Meanwhile, a third bird appeared - I thought it was a female, but when the female who was watching proceedings yesterday and this morning disappeared, and the male sat disconsolately on a branch, calling every louder for her to come back, I felt I might have been wrong and that there had been an elopement. Our male flew off after a while and we heard him calling from ever further away, but eventually they both came back and his work resumed.

I now have to return to Rio and wait till next weekend to find out whether the romance has blossomed - I witnessed a few clumsy attempts at mating today and yesterday, but he wasn't having much luck.

So here's his Home, on Mono Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.