Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Home

frequency for National Public Radio (NPR) in Tucson . . . I didn't plan for this as I didn't look up what today's Mono-Monday challenge was until I was about ready to leave for Tucson - so I had plenty of time to think about Home whilst I was driving.

"This is the BBC Home Service" that phrase takes me to the front room at home eating tea and listening to Children's Hour - Sweet Polly Oliver; Railway Roundup, serials and stories; or running home from school on Wednesday's to catch 4pm Evensong . . . Vic Oliver on Saturday night. Forays to the Light Programme (Radio 2) for Charles Chilton's Journey Into Space now available on Radio4 Extra.

St Peter's English choir was requested to sing at a funeral this morning so time on the computer was limited this morning.

No, I wasn't going to snap our house exterior in mono on such a dull day or reveal the interior homely squalor . . .

Home used to be where mum and dad lived; where I was nurtured and safe . . . . now they're gone and we no longer own the house that was home.

I distinctly remember the first time a Boston US immigration officer said, "Welcome home," on returning from one of my trips to England. My home was wherever Kathy was stationed for twelves years with the USAF. So home for me now is where I hang my hat and lay my head . . .

Home is where you're always welcome . . . where you're always accepted.

Filched: It takes hands to build a house, but only hearts can build a home... Homes cannot be bought and sold - houses only.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.