Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Derelict Thursday: Faded Elegance

When wandering around the Hydro yesterday I noticed something that looked pretty derelict ... and so I popped back today for a shot. The atmosphere was pretty moist for much of the day and the Megalong obliged with a little morning mist. I pass by the Hydro most days for some reason or other and I have walked here for exercise several times and so the place is quite a handy subject for blips.

At the western end of the complex there's a lot of older features still in ruin. I gather they are due for stages 2 or 3 of the restoration. One of them is this wonderful old stone balustrade which follows a staircase down to an elegant open air terrace with a view of the Megalong. Right now the public is prevented from entering the immediate area but you can still catch a glimpse of the ruined attraction. Many thanks yet again to SarumStroller for hosting the challenge.

May I also thank all those kind folk who have been offering me badly needed advice about my new smart phone camera. Be assured that I am taking note of all suggestions. One thing which I have discovered (however) is the "Otterbox Commuter case". It arrived today and it is magic. I have been watching people on Youtube dropping their phones from the roofs of their houses with this case fitted - and finding them completely unharmed. I can well believe it. One of its best features is the ability to make the Galaxy S4 actually grippable. No longer do I constantly imagine that I am going to drop the phone and handling the device for photography has been made much easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.