Gifts of Grace

By grace

Heroes

I had a sleepless night due to over-excitement before bed. All good. But tired this morning.

I wanted to do the Lady Bountiful thing and hand out chocolates to the workmen who have torn up the entire town for the last couple of years before they left for a well-deserved break over the festive season. They have done a magnificent job and it has felt miraculous in the last week or two when all the new pavements have begun to open up. After months and months and months of mud and barriers and diversions and treachery underfoot, suddenly we can glide along as never before on smooth and flawless marble. As if all the chaos, disruption and sheer physical labour had never taken place. Like someone had waved a magic wand.

I see these burly guys as angels now and wanted to express my gratitude for their work. They were surprisingly shy and gruff, "You didn't need to do that." But I did. And I felt for these men who need to be so tough and gruff to build our physical environment.

Then I came home cancelled planned swim, got into bed with the electric blanket and slept the afternoon away. Sheer decadence.

Oh and I might have had a chocolate or two the angels pressed upon me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.