Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Fife coast panorama

Despite dire warnings of giant waves and freak weather conditions, I continued with my plans to go for a walk on the Fife Coastal Path today before a lunchtime event in Elie.

I set off from Edinburgh and decided to park at Leven to walk from there along the beach towards Lundin Links and Lower Largo.

There were mini sandstorms around my feet as I walked along with the wind behind me. Then a quick stop for coffee at the Crusoe Hotel before returning along the High Tide path to avoid the wind and sand blowing in my face as I returned to the car to head up to Elie. At one point I'd had to activate the face flaps on my coat to ensure that I didn't get too cold, but it was bracing to walk along the coast. There's never a day which can't be improved by a walk by the coast (in my humble opinion).

At Elie, the new owners of the 19th Hole and Ship Inn were welcoming business people from around Fife to their newly renovated pub and telling us of their plans for the Ship Inn. The 19th Hole was a lovely cosy place to be, and the food we were served was very tasty - a definite recommendation, and we're sure the business will do well. Rachel and Graham have already made a success of The Bridge Inn, Ratho, so we're very glad they're breathing new life into two venues in the East Neuk. We also got agreement that they'll participate in the cookery theatre at the next Crail Food Festival. Make a note - it's going to be the 12th, 13th and 14th of June 2015.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.