My Christmas Tree

Last Christmas I made myself a new year pledge,…

I wanted to regain my old condition and lose the weight I gained from stopping smoking a few years ago.

This is literally the 21 kilos / 46 pounds I burnt away in the gym this year and illustrating it in packs of sugar* makes it very tangible for me.

Needles to say I feel glad :-))

* there's an anecdote to this.

When the mother of my children was pregnant she often complained about her weight and I keep saying that she shouldn't have to make such a fuss about it.
One day we were shopping in the supermarket and she asked me to put my hands together as you would do if someone wants to use you as a ladder to reach something out of reach, so I obliged…
But totally unexpected she rapidly began to pile some eighteen packs of sugar in my arms and then walked away saying the legendary words:
'Thats what it feels like and that also 24 hours per day'

Standing there with 18 kg of sugar as a super belly in front of me and not being able to let it go without making a mayor mess in the shop and being dependable of someone to help me out she brilliantly made her point!
One I never forgot. (and as you can see her action inspired me today ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.