The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Cloud confusion

I do like it when a photograph reveals more than was obvious to the naked eye.  Yes, I was focussing on the cow (or more properly a steer), and I was aware of the confused layering of clouds as the dark, lower rain-bearing clouds peeled away to reveal the higher wispy ones and vapour trails.  But I didn't see the colouring either side of the brightness of the sun (sun dogs perhaps?).  Nor had I seen the flying bird close to the horizon, there were ravens cronking so I guess that's what this one is  (you may need to go large to see it).

It was a bracing walk over the Helm at lunchtime with Gus, doing our best to dodge the showers that came scudding through.  As well as the ravens, there was a buzzard surfing the wind like a kestrel.  To think before Gus arrived, I perhaps only walked this hill three or four times in ten years - despising it somewhat for the dullness of its vegetation over acid rocks, in contrast to the botanical richness of limestone Scout Scar on the other side of Kendal.  But now I come here several times a week, and the sky drama is different every time and the rise of the hill so often provides silhouette opportunities.

In case anyone is wondering where I am, we have a Broadband failure at home and no access to the internet. BT don't seem to be in any hurry to get the problem fixed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.