A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday : 15th Dec : Change

My Mono Monday reflects on the changes I have seen with television.

Today we have an ever elusive control stick that will, at a selected press of the buttons, open an untold number of channels. It's mind blowing the amount of options there are and then you can watch it all again +1 hour later! They never got lost when they were stuck on the front of the telly...

To think I can watch one channel, pause live action, rewind it, all whilst recording 3 other channels at the same time.

Another change over the years is the TV magazines. Unless you had the daily newspaper you needed to buy two magazines, the Radio Times for BBC1 & radio and the TV Times for ITV. Today you get 3 weeks worth of programmes in a free mag with the paper.

In those days we didn't get more than 2 channels, both in B&W. Sixpence in a box at the back gave us just over a day's viewing.

I was 8 yrs old before I saw a colour TV programme. My dad needed to deliver a script to Lionel Jeffries and whilst they did their thing I was sat in front of a huge TV. Gardener's World in full bloom!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.