Scribbler

By scribbler

Slow progress

December Challenge / Mono Monday / Change
The slow fading of a flower.


It's hard to see from day to day, but this little carnation is two weeks old and today is its last day in my vase. Its vibrant pink has faded to paleness, and its delightful fragrance is barely detectable. Its sisters are starting to shrivel and their petals are turning brown at the edges.

I call this 'progress' because it represents forward movement through life.
I was also thinking of a favorite saying from the I Ching, both because I cling to it as I write my novel and because I included it in my novel:

Perseverance alone prevents slow progress from dwindling to nothing.

I pray to be done editing before I start to shrivel and turn brown!

-------------------------

One year ago, a special favorite of mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.