Just call me eccentric!

It sounds better than 'mad'!

So the story behind this strange adventure in papier-mache:

When we bought this bungalow the previous owners had a cat, therefore the back door had a cat flap. It still has. But it's looking the worse for wear and rattles annoyingly in the wind. Eventually, we are going to have a new door fitted. In the meantime, I've been playing with PVA glue and newspaper. This is my first layer of covering up the catflap. I'm gluing newspaper layers to the whole panel. When I've done enough layers (allowing each layer to dry out in between) then it should be Christmas, sorry - I mean, it should be ready to take paint.

My plan is to paint it in white primer and see how it looks. After that, I might paint a portal on it. That's the same as a mural but for doors instead of walls. At least, that's my word for it. Then again, I may chicken out and just leave it white. After all, 2015 might be the year we replace the door. If the mural - sorry - portal is even more annoying than the broken cat flap, it might be sooner rather than later. He he. (I blame Blue Peter. There was nothing you saw in the shops that couldn't be made with a bit of sticky-back plastic, empty toilet rolls and imagination. It's all Biddy Baxter's fault!)

'Eccentric' remember'! NOT raving loony!

Watch this space ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.