andypowe11

By andypowe11

Because the night

Stan, on the sofa watching TV - lit by an iPhone.

(You'll have guessed by now that my current crop of blip titles don't have a great deal to do with the subject of the photos).

Come on now try and understand
The way I feel under your command
Take my hand as the sun descends
They can't touch you now


Because the Night
Patti Smith

I think I might have lied the other day when I said that The Clash by The Clash was the first punk album I bought... it occurred to me this evening that I bought an earlier compilation album called New Wave (red cover, released in 1977 but I can't find out any more about it on the web) which was probably classed as a punk album though it contained mainly US artists (Richard Hell, Talking Heads, Patti Smith to name but a few) who I personally don't consider to have been punks in the UK sense.

Anyway... I was going to write about Piss Factory by Patti Smith (which I still think is a very powerful song), but that seems inappropriate given the photo of Stan :-). Instead... I recall that I bought Patti Smith's Easter at about the time that Because the Night was in the UK charts. At the time I had my first electric guitar and I can remember spending a lot of time in my bedroom (in front of the mirror no less) trying to learn the guitar solo from it. It's not a massively hard solo but I wasn't much of a guitarist so I don't think I got very far.

I subsequently went off that album, and Patti Smith in general, though listening to it now I'm not sure why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.