horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The Heron and Frog

What a great name for a pub.... I'd seen that this heron had something in its beak, but it wasn't until I got home and had a proper look that I could see (in this, and a few blurry later shots of it dunking aforementioned 'something' in the water then eating it) that it was a frog (or toad). And so the mind was made up for another wildlife blip, despite the failing light meaning it's awfully grainy, and in the morning grabbing an oxymoronic nicely gloomy but colourful shot of Calton Hill.

Aye, that was me heading over Arthur's Seat on the way to and from work, keeping up the walking training (right over the summit on the way to work, walking from St Mary's to Dunsapie Loch and on to Duddingston Village on the way home). Probably daft given I'm coming down with a cold again - unusual in itself for me to get two so close together. But hey, my cardio fitness isn't bad from all the cycling, it's the specific walking leg muscles that needed the workout.

Had a sort-of compliment of my photos after someone had looked at my Flickr sets (initially at some cycling stuff, but a wander thereafter). I had 'great variety' apparently. That fits in with my 'jack of all trades master of none' persona (that was also given an airing after I told someone at work I was going out to do some sketching and they asked if there was anything I couldn't do.

In truth there isn't anything stopping anyone doing anything. I just do. And reasonably well in most cases. But never expertly. I'm life's equivalent of the utility footballer who is handy to have in the squad to cover a variety of positions, but never likely to grab the headlines. I'm not sure if it's a good or a bad thing, but hey, it stops me getting bored. And if the variety of shots I take, from wildlife to landscapes to cycling to whatever the hell else reflects my personality then so be it.

I'm me. Deal with it. ;)

Now excuse me, I'm off down the Heron and Frog for a pint...

p.s. phone interview for a job tonight with a recruitment consultant (doing first cut before going to the actual employer) - not sure if, after telling me only 4 or 5 candidates would be put forward, it was a Freudian slip to come off the phone saying 'so if you can just fill that out and we'll put you forward to the client' despite having some more people to speak to...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.