Fake Skylines

By fakeyskies

Well presented

Andrei Nekrasov, director of "Russian Lessons"

As you can see, I got a weird choices in this year's HKIFF, and as a result ... 1) I didn't really understand what the directors want to present; 2) films with opening endings (which I really don't like!)

Until tonight, the 6th movie of this hkiff, I finally watched a great documentary which really impressed me!

"Russian Lessons" filmed in the frontline of South Ossetia War 2008. I've no idea what detaily happened there since I lived in a city that really far from Russia and Georgia. Well, it is always very interesting to watch a movie/doc of a place/country that it is unfamiliar to you in film festivals. You can learn part of the human history thro them. This doc even included clips of never-ending conflicts between Russia & Georgia (e.g. Abkhazia 1993).

Just now reading review says this doc isn't worth watching. To me, I like it. Especailly it recorded how russian/western tv being propaganda by Putin governement. Haaha. As a Chinese and a journalism student, I feel that it's really funny (of the situation in GREAT CHINA).

You know what, this is freedom of speech that these two Russian directors can did a work against their government/supporting Georgia and with no consequence afterwards. Although Mr. Nekrasov said it'll never allow to broadcast in Russian tv, a bit sad. =(

Besides, how sad is that war do to human? People dieing, wounded, suffering, family separate... "Ethic cleaning", is a phase that for us who live in a peaceful city will never know. But I'm trying to understand why. There are so much to learn in life. Always.

Mr. Andrei Nekrasov shared his experiences as well as political views (!) (and of the recent Chechen terrorist attack in Moscow, what a perfect timing of this film-showing?!) with audiences after film-showing. That's very nice. Main reason is that as a Russian, he speaks fluent English with no Russian accent! :D

Two more films to go. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.