andypowe11

By andypowe11

Koyaanisqatsi

The central 18th century chandelier in the main banqueting room at the Guildhall in Bath, viewed from the floor immediately underneath. I was there (in the Guildhall, not on the floor) earlier today for an all-staff meeting at work.

Koyaanisqatsi

Koyaanisqatsi
Philip Glass

(Glass... get it!? :-) ).

From Wikipedia:

In the Hopi language, the word Koyaanisqatsi means "crazy life, life in turmoil, life out of balance, life disintegrating, a state of life that calls for another way of living". The film is the first in the Qatsi trilogy of films: it is followed by Powaqqatsi (1988) and Naqoyqatsi (2002). The trilogy depicts different aspects of the relationship between humans, nature, and technology. Koyaanisqatsi is the best known of the trilogy and is considered a cult film.

It's one of my favorite films. Not that I watch it often you understand, but it is a beautiful combination of music and visuals (and well worth seeing if you haven't done so). I imagine it is particularly stunning on the big screen.

(For info... my family always take the piss out of me when I say I like it - but, hey, what do they know?).

Quick update on the cycling, seeing as it's the end of the month.

Miles cycled: 1083.1
Target to date: 986.3
Miles to go: 2916.9

Basically... I'm on target, which I'm pretty pleased about 'cos I'm hoping I've got thru the worst of the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.