The Life of Bri

By bri

My Favourite... Small World theory.

There is a theory to explain the 'small-world' phenomena.

It suggests that there is a small finite number of 'real' people in the world (say 5000 or so), and everyone else is just unreal 'fillers' or ciphers.

That is why you have so many 'small world' experiences - because there aren't really that many people in the world, so it's no wonder you bump into people you know in unexpected places.

Latest Example:

On Sunday, two new blippers started - Canterbury and Kiwidino.

They were two of my best mates when I lived in NZ, but we haven't been in touch for a couple of years. We used to climb together every week (they are the two central figures in this photo), and when Kiwidino moved to the UK, I lived in his house for a year.

Now, Canterbury happened to google me a few weeks ago and came across my blip, and then decided to start one of his own.

But Kiwidino was inspired to blip by Pixel Smiths. I don't know, and have never met Pixel Smiths. Kiwidino and Canterbury hadn't been in touch for ages.

So what is the chance of Kiwidino
a) starting to blip
b) starting on the same day as Canterbury
and
c) finding me already here?

Not too remote, if there are only a few people on the planet.

So are the rest of you blippers real, or just fillers?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.