A House on the Road to Ruin

I have passed this house almost daily over the years and watched it fall into decay. It was once for sale and I had hopes it would be turned into a restaurant but there is no land with it and no place to park. The cars zoom past at speed. (Standing on the other side of the road to take this picture, I thought I might be killed.) It is the main road between Lucca and Camaiore. If the house looks as if it is sinking in the rear, that's because it is.

Widening the road must have been the death warrant for the house. Some houses, smack, on the road have been restored. Double glazing is installed, the shutters are closed, an entrance is made on the other side and the occupants turn their backs on the road. I would always expect an unwanted visit from a lorry.

I have always wanted to look inside it and today I did. I could only gain access to one room where I saw the scorched chestnut beams seen: HERE This building style of beams and brick is still used. I could look through a broken window into another room where the ceiling had fallen in. Not a pretty sight.

During the summer, a trumpet vine which has climbed up over the roof, is covered in bright orange blossoms. Net curtains still flutter from some upstairs windows and each time I pass I wonder about the woman who hung them there so very long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.