gilliebg

By gilliebg

April Showers

Paynes Prairie is biologically, geologically and historically unique. This park became Florida´s first state preserve in 1971 and is now designated as a National Natural Landmark. Over 20 distinct biological communities provide a rich array of habitats for wildlife, including alligators, bison, wild horses and over 270 species of birds. Today I went out without any great expectations, as the last couple of times I have been, there was little wildlife to be seen. Today, however, was different. there were hundreds of birds; not so many of the spectacular varieties, but busy, beautiful small birds. Black necked stilts, red winged blackbirds, raucous moorhens, and quite a few herons and egrets. The skies were beautiful, the weather blustery and it only sprinkled a little, so I stayed dry. I was going to blip this lovely bug, but in the end my day belonged to the Prairie so I am posting that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.