a town called E.

By Eej

Day of the Dancing Minnows

We stopped at the Fish Hatchery after our trip to Kalamazoo. Again.
It's turning into a regular thing, thanks to its many Blippertunities and the Beloved's willingness to sit in the car and watch the groceries* while I hop-skip around the ponds.

The first pond, opposite the visitor's center, is the show pond. That's where you can feed the fish and watch them tumble over eachother with excitement. (I did :))
Today I noticed a lot more action at the shallow end than usual. When I went over to get a better look I noticed there were a bazillion minnows (I counted, honestly) and they were jumping! At regular intervals three, four, five of these little things jumped out of the water and splashed back in. For some reason, the sunniest spots were the most popular places to jump, though I did see plenty of circles on the water in the more shadowy places.

I seem to catch odd things since I started Blipping. A sunning troop of turtles, leaf-tornados and now dancing minnows.
Though, come to think of it, it's probably nothing new, I'm just more aware of it :)


Today would have been my father's 90th birthday. I celebrate and salute you, papa, every day, and today in particular.



*we** have a truck and our groceries ride in the back of it.
** and by 'we' I mean 'he' :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.