Shine-A-Light

By gblrps

Glasgow's Grand Ole Opre

I'm not a big Country & Western music fan. In fact its probably my least favourite music.

Well o.k. then, I do quite like Johnny Cash and there are a few others like Steve Earle and Alison Krauss who quite appeal to me. But I wouldn't go to a Country & Western concert or listen to a radio show of C & W music.

Well o.k. I have listened to Another Country presented by Ricky Ross of Deacon Blue. Its very good.

But I haven't been to Glasgow's Grand Old Opre. Its been on the go as a C & W venue since 1974. The Building was formerly a Post Office, and then a carriage hirer and undertakers. Its also been a cinema and an Irish dancing club. Its well known for its cheap admission prices and the relatively low cost of the drinks. Among the acts due to appear shortly are Red Canyon, Nickle & Dime, Texas Express, and Brian Hughes and the Lonesharks (no, I didn't make that one up!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.