Autumn or Fall

In New Zealand we call the season of falling coloured leaves autumn. It's a reflection of our English influence and heritage. But many blippers live in countries where autumn is fall.

I've been thinking about this. 'Autumnal' is a lovely word. It speaks to me of temperature and colour. But fall makes more sense when I look up into a tree. It's so much more descriptive as I watch dying leaves flutter to the ground.

I talked to Mum a while ago. She definitely feels better at this end of the day than she did at the start. Officially she is on leave from hospital. This means she can quickly return to hospital if she needs to as she hasn't been discharged.

I feel upset to know her care has at times been very poor. Incompetence is inexcusable. But I have to put that aside for now and just concentrate on her and Dad taking things a day at a time.

This morning I went to support friends being confirmed at St Luke's in the City. It was great. I was struck by how real and authentic people were. Then a birthday lunch with friends. It's helped to ease the stress.

I've back blipped yesterday sign of the times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.