Sailfish

By sailfish

New toy!

The underwater housing for my S90 arrived at the beginning of the week. First test dive scheduled for tomorrow, so up early before work today to get it sorted.

The first dive is always done without a camera inside, to check the seal and make sure it is watertight. Cameras and salt water definitely don't mix, I have an expensive doorstop to prove it!

I went for an Ikelite housing, rather than Canon's own, Ikelite are an American company, they use more robust materials and production methods. Consequently their housing is rated to 60m (7 atmospheres of pressure), rather than the 40m stated by Canon. That in turn means the S90 can come on my trimix dives, without me having to worry about it imploding at any minute.

So meet my new toy, an "arty" macro of a beautiful piece of engineering, with a bit of luck it will be instrumental in future blips :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.