DaveLoudon

By Daveloudon

Scary or what?

Went out for a drive and some photo hunting at lunchtime.

I headed to a spot where I knew I could read the paper in peace, have my sandwich and then maybe head out for ten minutes shooting. Thats where the last horse picture came from:

http://www.blipfoto.com/view.php?id=529239&month=4&year=2010

Anyway, I was sitting in the car, and I looked in the rear view mirror to see that the door of the very old church behind me was swinging in the wind.

'Oh Oh' I thought. Thats a bit creepy. I wonder if anyone is in there. So, being daft I decided to go in, thinking at the very least I will bump into an old vicar who will be nice and friendly.

But no. Nobody was there. I continued in, and then decided to start exploring. The exorcist, The Haunting...in fact any really scary movie started playing out in my mind. And there it was, an old door leading up to the tower. Again, I was thinking 'don't be daft', and again my stupidity took me forward and then upward. This photo is what I saw when I got to the top. A room, with a chair and a rope.

F**K - A noose - I'm out of here. But not before I took the shot.

It was only when I got back in the car and headed away, tyres screeching, that I realised the church was probably meant to be left open as there was indeed some museum type books and artefacts at the front door, and the more I thought about it that noose was probably the rope for the bell tower and that the chair (previously thinking it was the hanging stool) was just so the stunted bell ringer could get a good swing.

Well, there you go. Not your usual lunch break, and certainly not your usual blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.