Tripping up.

1) Decide to find blip
2) Nearly trip on something
3) Blip it

<rant>

This evening we were watching a DVD, a legitimately purchased DVD, as all out DVDs are. Why, when I buy a DVD, am I FORCED to watch notices about copyright theft being bad. These only exist on legit DVDs (pirates remove them as they are a nuissance) so if I'm watching it, by definition I buy legit DVDs already! Preaching to the choir. You can't fast forward either (unlike on a VCR) - you just get a message saying "operation not allowed by DVD" when you try. Surely it's my disc, I should be able to watch it or ignore bits of it however I want?!?!

It's a TV show disc containing many episodes which we watch one at a time. Each time we put the disc in we have to watch this 1 minute long anti-piracy message - it's wasting valuable time in my life!

It actually makes me WANT to buy rip-off DVDs with the darned anti-piracy advert removed, saving time and money. Why oh why are those of us who are (relatively) law abiding punished in this way.

Even worse are the DVDs which force you to watch trailers as well.

I was going to blip the DVD, but of course it's image is copyright and I don't want to commit copyright theft, especially not in a blip ranting about adverts to deter... OK you get the picture.

</rant>

Ahhh, that's better.

Normal service was never achieved in the first place, but what passes for normality in this journal may or may not resume tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.