a town called E.

By Eej

All you need ...

To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery.

(from the website)

There is hope.
There is help.

When I was diagnosed with depression several years ago, a lot of people were surprised. 'You?' they said, 'but you are such a fun-loving, smiley, warm person!'
I am, but there were other parts of me that I kept hidden from everyone. The not-so-smiley parts. I hid them so well, I almost forgot they were there. Until my life crumbled and everything I had tried to hide so carefully came out in full force.

I found help (thank you, accessible health care system of the Netherlands) and within weeks I was getting what I needed: medication and therapy. I couldn't have done the one without the other, I wouldn't have wanted to do the other without the one.

I am lucky. I won my battle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.