A time for everything

By turnx3

Spring Grove Cemetery

After my Travelogue through French history class down on the main campus of UC (University of Cincinnati), I went walking at Spring Grove Cemetery and Arboretum. It was a mixture of clouds and sunshine today, and there were several times on my walk that I thought I was going to get rained on before I could get back to the car, but then 5 minutes later the sun would appear again. This beautiful bronze statue marks the grave of Andrew Erkenbrecher, who founded the Cincinnati Zoo in 1875 with his prized bird collection. The statue was the first piece cast by a local foundry, Mudhenk & Walther, around 1888. The poem by Friedrich Ruckert on the plaque the figure is holding reads in German, Though Death ends well all life's distress, Yet life still shudders at Death's approach. Life only sees Death's dusky hand, and not the shining cup it bears.

One year ago: Wine tasting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.