A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Dandelion

You can't keep a good dandelion down. This gorgeous display is in the parkway on both sides of the street in downtown Naperville, IL. I really like the color combination - they're not typical of the tulips I've seen on display this year. Spent the entire day running here and there with my Taxman. Started out filling orders and shipping them (glad the post office is open on Saturdays). Went to Toys R Us to buy Owen a birthday present, tomorrow is not his birthday, but it is the day his parents chose to celebrate it with family. We had a blast choosing 'safari related' goodies for him: A set of real (although dead) bugs encased in clear resin, a bug house with a magnifier top on it so he can examine bugs up close, and a safari vest with lots of pockets, that he can wear while he's wandering around his back yard looking for bugs and worms.

One of our other stops was at the Farm and Fleet store where they had live chicks!!! Oh my gosh, I had so much fun giggling over how cute they are. I had at least as much fun as the four year old girl next to me. We decided that one particular chick was lonely and needed a friend (he probably wasn't feeling well, but I kept that to myself). I am more excited than ever to get mine...oh I wish I didn't have to wait a month.

We ate a late sushi lunch in Naperville and then came home and did some yard work. I pulled weeds while my Taxman finished tilling the veggie garden. There has been a giant cloud hanging over the Midwest all day but not much rain yet. They'd predicted several inches but who knows.

So in the midst of all these pretty tulips there stands one strong dandelion all ready to spread its seeds. See it, right there sticking its head up in the center lower third of the picture? That just makes me smile. Go dandelion!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.