Blipper's Daily (?)

By blipper

Signs to....nowhere in Particular?

After getting a pretty dramatic blip yesterday I thought I'd challenge my developing photographic skills by trying to get a small scale, local and artistic Blip today.

So I set out walking from the house with no specific idea in mind when I noticed that a lot of new signs have been put up locally (presumably at some expense). The first ones I saw were in the category of stating the bl**ding obvious...namely directions to the local shops. Not exactly very useful as only locals would want to visit the shops and surely they already knew the way without the benefit of signs?!

Then I noticed a sign on a lamppost from the local history group which seemed to state that the lamppost was some kind of historic artifact called the 'Tron Tree'?? (on returning home I found, with the help of Mr Google, that this sign was not in fact evidence of a highly developed sense of historical ironic humour but rather the site of a historically important tree (well important in strictly local terms).

Then I noticed an interesting sign pointing the way to the 'The Lady's Well'...now this seemed to be a potentially local beauty spot I'd never heard of! My head filled with dreams of getting a fine artistic blip of historical interest......so I followed several signs and a winding path leading to the rather sorry sight of a dirty puddle covered with an steel grid and covered in litter! STill I took my shot and returned home (disappointed) to look up 'The Lady's Well' on the internet.....the description I found was...underwhelming to say the least:

'Lady's Well is a spring well, traditionally supposed to be associated with the Old Church of Tullibody. It has no features of special interest. It is 4 foot in diameter, but is so much filled up with stones and debris that it is now not more than 2 foot deep. This well is now stagnant, overgrown, and in poor condition.'

Well (pun intended) I can't fault that for a description!! Perhaps I'll have better luck next time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.