Bald Eagle

By JohnJD

Today Is .........

World Worker's Memorial Day to commemorate those killed at work.

This morning I caught the end of Thought for Today on Radio 4. The speaker, I think it was the Bishop of Liverpool, was recounting the story of a farmworker who died in an accident trapped between two vehicles. When he was found there etched into one of the vehicles were the words "I love you."

Later today while walking through Manchester I came across a small rally outside the Town Hall. I only heard the last speaker, a construction worker, who spoke simply, eloquently and very movingly about the 53 construction workers who lost their lives at work in the UK last year.

Sometimes the cause of Health and Safety is done great harm by some of the more outlandish decisions that are made in it's name but today brought home the real reason why we need to have these laws in place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.