The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Blue skies

Takes me back to '97 when TB was elected - the following day was just the most gorgeous (my most over-used word) day. Blue skies! And so it was today - though there was a keen cold east wind. I suspect a meaning there, but I don't believe in nonsense like that any more than I believe that the bird that shat a huge load on my shoe (close miss) will bring good luck.
This morning I did the usual shop, and sharing a lift to the car park, a woman peered at my wine purchases (four bottles) and enquired whether we were having a party. Every weekend is a party, I quickly replied. She was genuinely aghast, "you'll drink that this weekend??" she asked. Err yes, but over Friday, Saturday and Sunday, said I. She was appalled.

Cripes, it was just for tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.