Nearly there...

This is the piece I've been working on, it's not quite finished but I'm pleased with how it's going so far. I was painting this for about 6 hours solid today (up a scaffold tower in the rain for half the day) and I'm totally knackered. It was starting to get dark when I took this so it's not the best picture but I'm back tomorrow to finish off and hopefully get a decent picture of the end result.

The idea of the piece is a modern take on the Prometheus story, it's a progression from my early stuff about the way society treats young people and the obsession with the hoodie. If you know the myth, Prometheus gave fire to humans and was punished by being chained to a rock and having his liver pecked out every day by an Eagle.

This version is about the way young people bring the excitement (fire) to our culture and then are punished for it. The Prometheus figure is in handcuffs (chains) on a mountain (made from council tower blocks) while the police (eagle) watch from above waiting to swoop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.