My Angle

By myangle

Shell

1/200th sec, f11, 200ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 49mm, Canon 350D

Day 2 on Pottsville and I was hard pushed to choose a blip for today. I took loads of nice photos.

The sunrise was stunning. I got up at 5.30am and wandered down to the beach to do some fishing and take a few pictures with my compact. I was not long there and the sun popped up over the horizon. It was quite amazing how fast is rose. I decided to come back with my slr tomorrow.

Today was quite enjoyable. We went to the Pottsville markets which had some interesting stuff. I bought some local art. After breakfast we all went to the beach. Brad and I played with the footy while Kathie and Jo looked after Olivia to make sure she didn't eat too much beach sand. The water was quite cool by my standards but once in I found it quite pleasant. I love the fact that I live in a country where you can comfortably swim in the ocean on the second day of spring.

Kathie, Brad and Olivia headed off around lunchtime and after an afternoon nap, Jo and I went for a short drive. Jo loves looking for shells so we stopped at a number of beaches and had a bit of a scour around. This shell is nothing special, but it caught my attention and has ended up being blipworthy.

I am amazed at how much the character of an image can change by extracting a channel to make it black and white. This is the blue channel. It really catches the grains of sand and makes them stand out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.