Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Picnic

As usual, on every second Saturday when working in the ROI, I caught the train to Dublin. This time though, I went as far as Pearse station in Westland Row, on the south side of the Liffey. There's definitely a different flavour to this part of Dublin city centre. In no distance at all, I passed two houses where Oscar Wilde lived at some stage, the Sweny druggist shop kept open in honour of James Joyce by at least two rather eccentric white-coated volunteers (he either shopped there or included it in his writings - I've never read any of his work - must put that right soon), the Wolfe Tone monument, the newly reopened Natural History Museum and a Hugenot cemetery from 1693.
Anyhoo, I approached Stephen's Green from a different angle today and as soon as I saw these Islamic ladies having a picnic by the lake, I knew I had my Blip for the day.
These two didn't make the cut, but they came very close:
Young Love
Creepy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.