Broken.

Not sure what happened here, but I found three beautifully formed eggs sitting at the bottom of a tree in the garden. They looked like blackbird's eggs but then, everything that's blue and spotty looks like one of those to me.

There was another one too, but it lay smashed on the grass. They were all cold.

I picked them up, meaning to photograph them once the grass was cut. However, I managed to break one in the process - and the dog broke another one. Didn't seem to have been fertilized, but then I guess that they may have fallen from the nest before they had time to grow.

Could have sworn I heard a cuckoo this morning. I guess you never know, but whatever happened, I'm still amazed that something so fragile could land on the ground without breaking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.