a town called E.

By Eej

Wall-poetry


In 1992 the city of Leiden started a project called: 'gedichten op muren' (poems on walls). The first poem was of the Russian poetess (is that a word?) Marina Tsvetajeva.
In 2005 the project was finished by putting up number 100: The Profundis of Garcia Lorca (which is one of my favourites).
Over the years I've been able to find (with the help of 2 booklets with maps and pictures) quite a few of them, and some of them I've seen so many times they are like friends to me.

Today the Beloved and me visited Leiden for some history, cheese and poetry. It's a winning combination, I can tell you :)

The weather was no longer cooperating and after a few hours (and many miles) my light went out. So we went home for some R&R.

This evening my brother-in-law presented the world-premiere of the try-out of his one-man show. We were on the guest list and I had already told the Beloved that with favours comes great responsibilities.
One of the first sentences my brother-in-law spoke was about the possibility of sitting next to a woman persistently whispering to the man next to her, in an attempt to translate.
He was right :)

During the intermission, a man behind us started talking to us. Turned out he was visiting Kalamazoo (closest city to us) 30 years ago when a tornado hit. Coincidences rule my world :)

One more full day and then it's back home :/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.