John Henry

Painted bike sign on the Bristol Bath Railway Path near Bitton.

I've been doing an hour (a little over 15 miles) every morning this week. Today was last ride until next weekend because we off on holiday and I feel like I need a break from cycling for a while.

It's the end of the month next week so here are my stats up until the end of May:

Miles cycled: 1889.9
Target to date (May 31): 1654.8
Miles to go: 2110.1

Yesterday, in a slight fit of madness, I entered myself for the Intermediate Route (82 miles) of the Tour of Pembrokeshire in June. Not sure how that's going to work out - it'll be my longest ride to date - but, if nothing else, the scenery should be nice ;-)

BTW, I picked up one of the other bikes in the carpark at work yesterday - a pretty decent road bike - and realised that it was literally half the weight of my current (and rather old) mountain bike :-( I shouldn't have done it... I'm now thinking that I've got to get myself a decent bike. Unfortunately, I can't afford one :-(

Well John Henry was a little baby
Sittin' on his daddy's knee
He picked up a hammer and
a little piece of steel
And cried, "Hammer's gonna
be death of me, Lord, Lord
Hammer's gonna be the death of me"


John Henry
Bruce Springsteen

(From the Seeger Sessions American Land Edition).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.