Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Presents of mind

Wish I'd slowed down enough to at least get this one in focus. Zoomed in to buy a birthday card or two and some lovely paper. Was running from one thing to another all day today.
Guests in our Edinburgh cottage were leaving having run the Edinburgh Marathon at the weekend. More guests were arriving with an overlap of about 5 minutes. I was rushing about trying to get the cottage cleaned and still appear friendly while wielding my mop and flinging sheets about.
Order was restored and guests left to get on with their holiday while I ran to a meeting further up the Royal Mile.
This little shop is in St Mary's Street and had some unusual gifts in it.
Was tempted into buying a set of Scottish Magnetic Words. But have just noticed that one of them is 'scooby'. Now since when was that a Scottish word? Derived from an American TV show, and rhyming slang for 'clue' as in 'I haven't a scooby (doo - clue)'.
I have heard it used in Scotland, but is this enough to classify it as a Scottish word?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.