Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

iCaved

[backblipped]

On the day that Apple launched the iPad here in the UK, I caved and got myself... an iPhone.

For those that know me know that I'm a bit of an Apple fan (current inventory in the Delph Wynd household: G4 PowerMac, iMac flat screen (iLamp), 20" iMac, Macbook, MacBook Pro, three iPod Touch (two working), iPod video, two iPhones, and a few other older iPods). But when it came to my mobile phone one of the priorities was that it had a decent camera and the Sony Ericsson phones always won over in the end. So when my contract came up for renewal this week I finally decided to bite the bullet and go for the iPhone instead. The camera's still not great but there are loads of blippers on here producing some decent images with what it has got, so I bit the bullet and ordered one.

The picture here is a bit of an experiment with the camera and the protective case I bought for it. This case has a sliding lens that covers the iPhone's own one and improves the macro function. The image on the left is a straight shot from the iPhone, the one on the right is with the lens cover in place. The focusing distance has gone from 18 inches to 4 inches. You can see the difference much better in the BIG VERSION

So, no iPad for me - even though everyone assumed I'd be jumping on that - at least, not with this first generation version. Maybe when the weight's dropped a bit and they've added some more function's that make it more than just a big iPod Touch, I'll look at it again. For now, the iPhone does the trick and when the new operating system's launched this summer with it's multi-tasking features and other goodies I'll be a happy Apple Fan Boy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.