Skyroad

By Skyroad

Mexican Supporters, Trafalgar Square

On my recent visit to London, walking from Charing Cross to meet someone in the National Gallery, I noticed a commotion, more than the usual bolshy pigeons and tourists. Being sport-blinkered, I hadn't even known about the match, and this is often how I encounter such events, dazzled by the carnival that follows in their wake. In fact, I have never been to any large sporting event; I have no stake, no 'side', so such things really do appear to me as a kind of anarchic theatre. And that is how I enjoy them: eruptions of enthusiasm, spontaneous fountains, spectacle. I'd lift my hat if I had one. Not having one, here is a verse:

From One Behind The Sidelines

Here's
to something
or other, to the king
of whatever happened
or didn't,
cheers.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.