Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Memorial Day

Memorial Day.

A day to remember our nation's fallen heros.
A day to honor all of the men and women who have fought for our freedom.
A day to thank the countless men and women who are continuing to fight for our country.

Memorial Day.

Without our soldiers and veterans, we would not have the freedoms that we have today.

I don't ever want to take their sacrifices for granted. Or the sacrifices made by their families.

I want my children to grow up understanding the importance of this day.

Memorial Day.

------------

My parents just had the opportunity to visit the "Tomb of the Unknown Soldier". They just spent an entire month traveling around the East Coast. From Washington D.C, to New York, Virginia, Philadelphia, Boston, and more......they spent four weeks learning about our country's history. Visiting museums. Exploring the homes of previous presidents. My Mom kept a journal along the way and I am looking forward to sitting down and listening to all of their stories. This was a powerful trip for them. A trip that I hope to take in the future. History is such an important part of our lives and I love how passionate they both are about broadening their knowledge of the world.

------------

I realize that the photo is a little grainy but I loved how the light was hitting this sunflower as the the sun was going down. Just don't view it in big. :) I liked the capture of the geometric shapes created by the sun light. This sunflower was given to me by my Mother-in-law this week. Thanks for lifting my spirits when I was so sick. I love you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.