Some days...

I wish I had a mask.

To hide my obvious disdain, frustration, annoyance and disbelief at fellow human beings.

To hide the fact from Corin that I am in pain so that he doesn't worry.

To hide from the monkeys who have hunted me down and wrestled me to the ground in a continuous stream all day. Even after the day had finished.

It has been a busy day. It needn't have been as frantic as it was. Those darned monkeys make mucho mucho work for me! It WAs a productive day. Not all bad.

Am agitated because our external moderator is coming in tomorrow, and I know that I have gone above and beyond in terms of the preparation of the student work she is coming in to check. I think it is well organised, all the paperwork is completed, the printed work and electronic files are organised and ready for scrutiny. My judgements were upheld last year, I have no reason to worry that they won't this year. But still I worry. Once we get to the end of tomorrow, I'll know one way or t'other.

Am in pain with my right hand - the one where the finger went dodgy and blue for no apparent reason the other week. It's not been right since, and in the last week it has started to ache permanently, in my fingers, my hand and my wrist, up into my forearm. Yesterday I relented and took painkillers. Tonight, Corin went out and got me quite a nifty wrist support which is doing the job. But the computer isn't helping, and I suspect all the spreadsheet work over the weekend has aggravated things somewhat. So, instead of working, as I had planned this evening, I am doing NOTHING except drinking tea and watching telly.

Rays of sunshine still shine through - the satisfaction of knowing that I helped a colleague out of a real bind this afternoon. Also, that James, who has been playing a game on my Facebook account (supervised), left a message there tonight for Corin to say that "he is a really good friend on Facebook and the best stepdad to James" Corin was chuffed. I was too.

Right, off to watch my boys eat pizza. I would have been, except I bought a pepperoni one, IN ERROR, and I hate pepperoni. Toast and a packet of crisps for me!

(James made the mask by the way!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.