walking in the city

By inthecity

Hug

I'm so happy I can't stand it. I've had a blast taking L&P around town (backblips, this way>. Friday evening I met them at their hotel and it just went from there. They'd barely dropped their bags and it was out for food and drink. We braved the spitty showers as long a we could to sit on a pub patio.

Saturday started with lattes and a wander up University Avenue, through Queen's Park, Bloor Street, and University of Toronto. Time for some leisurely sushi on Baldwin before walking back through Chinatown and Queen Street West, where "it's just ALL funky shopping from here to the hotel." Flopped around the pool and hotel room, a wee disco nap, then dinner and dancing at El Convento Rico's, where the drag was awful and the men were HOT.

Sunday was the best. We met up with my Mom and her husband at Il Fornello's on Danforth--a reunion after many years. Then it was back to my place for greek pastries and coffee. My sister made a surprise appearance and I thought my home would BUST with all that love. Mom and G headed home and I took P out for a smoke on the roof and a walk around the property so L and my sister could visit on their own (they adore each other). When we got back I put on the kettle and pulled out old photos, and before we knew it hours had flown, the lot of us on the veranda, giggling and piecing together events and stories of those rockin' times (1987-1994).

L&P had to return Monday evening, but we managed to squeeze in a trip to the Toronto Islands by P's special request. It could not have been lovelier, lying in the sunshine on the indian cotton bedspread I take on every picnic, nibbling fresh fruit while clouds raced over.

We said our good-byes at the hotel while the driver graciously waited for us to share as many last hugs as we could. They drove off waving from the backseat. I walked home in the evening sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.