Katie's photos

By bogbumper

Alien attack

Another day, another dragonfly. I promise that one day, my entries will be about something else (but for now I'm making the most of them).

This is an exuvia. We found it (Mark spotted it hanging on a reed; I picked it up) at the edge of the old swimming pool.*

Dragonflies have a fascinating life-cycle. From eggs come larvae, which live in the pond, lake or river for up to three years. They are fierce predators, lurking at the bottom and striking fear into the other pond inhabitants. Creatures as large as small fish and tadpoles can feature on the menu.

When its time has come, the larva undergoes metamorphosis. It climbs up a reed stem or other piece of vegetation, hangs on tight and starts to climb out of its own skin, starting just behind its head. A backflip is required before it comes free, then its body starts to harden and its wings are pumped with fluid.

The exuvia is the left-behind shell which the dragonfly climbs out of.

Frankly, I think it's quite scary.

* Immediately before, I spotted a Vapourer Moth caterpillar, so it's not true that I need people to point things out to me all the time. Just in case you were wondering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.