An Apple a Day...

By anappleaday

Surgery

Late at night, on the farm, after many years, we finally get to see our friend at his work. He is a wonderful, caring, dairy farmer and has completely devoted his life to it. We are so fortunate to know them and to be able to experience a little bit of farm life.

Tonight, he was called to the barn for an emergency - a sick cow in need of surgery to save her life. He invited us to come and watch the surgery. This is the cow, in the cow "operating room". It was very dark in the barn so my shots didn't come out as well as I'd hoped. I was very proud of myself that I was in no way grossed out or disturbed - I photographed the entire surgery from start to finish. This is about 75% of the way through - just before the incision was sown up. The cow is given local anesthetic and stays awake through the entire process.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.