Ralph Cooper

By ralphcooper

Dad, I'm Hungry!

I'd heard some chirping coming from the trees by the car park at work for a week or so now.

I'd not been able to locate the nest or identify the birds/chicks responsible for the commotion.

Today, when I got out of the car I spotted an adult Greater Spotted Woodpecker on a tall stump of Beech.

I saw it fly away then noticed a hole in the trunk. A few seconds later a chick popped it's head out.

I managed to get some shots.

Unfortunately I didn't manage to get any good ones of the adult feeding the chick(s). Not sure how many in there.

I've seen GSW drilling for bugs. I've spotted them calling by hammering the trees. Never before have I seen them nesting or seen a chick, or seen them feeding the chicks.

It was great to see!

All I need now is a bigger lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.